my spoon is too big
newest
older
random
profile
fans
cast
100 Things
other goodies
notes
guestbook
e-mail
further stalking
design
host
i'm a consumer whore!
playlist
Afternoon Delight-The Channel 4 News Team from Anchorman
i live in a giant bucket
bio
my name's sarah, you can call me sarah, i like cats and elvis music and those bobblehead animals you can put on your car dashboard. mmmmm, pizza pie.

Get Listed!



01.27.05 @ 10:45 A.M.
The One Without Grown Ups

Hey, do you watch any reality tv?
Well, if you do, it's very likely you've come across the inevitable episode of whatever show you were watching where they spend half an episode talking about some "drama" that in any other situation wouldn't be considered a drama. Some little thing happens and it's blown COMPLETELY out of proportion. It just makes you sit there and ask yourself "what the hell is going on? Why are they still talking about this? I mean, is it really that big of a deal? Am I not seeing something? Do I look fat in this dress? What's the meaning of life? Where's the beef? Who shot JR? Also, as an intelligent human being, WHY AM I WATCHING THIS CRAP?"
There are plenty of examples, like the infamous drywall falling on Omarosa's head from the first season of The Apprentice, or hey, how about Stacie J. from season two of The Apprentice. Sorry, it's Thursday-Apprentice night.
ANYWAY, I thought these not-dramas were copyrighted by reality tv. Surely, people who aren't in front of a camera and then edited to make for "exciting" television don't act this way.
I...I just wish I didn't have to say that I was wrong. But I was. I've seen it people. With my own eyes.
You see, in the frater-okay, you know what, I am still not used to saying that I am in a "fraternity," even if the damn thing is clearly co-ed. So I'm going to be calling it a "group," mmmkay? Anyway, so the group I'm in, we're having rush for spring semester. We decided as a group to make t-shirts for us and for the rushees. We also decided, again, as a group, by a pretty overwhelming majority, to go with a Napoleon Dynamite shirt. It would say "Vote for Pedro" on the front and then "Rush APO and all your wildest dreams will come true." on the back. Now, I haven't even seen the movie, it looks so incredibly stupid and the guys face? I mean, I'm not one to talk, but seriously? It makes me SICK, but I know that "Vote for Pedro" is not offensive at ALL and has nothing to do with race.
Try telling that to the president of the group and the president from last semester (who she is good friends with). They both voted against the shirt and spent wasted 45 minutes of our time debating about whether or not this STUPID SHIRT could be construed as offensive.
Really? We're fighting about this? I mean...really? You're seriously concerned about this? Well...okay...
Forget that neither of them had even seen the movie, so they didn't even get the shirt, forget that an overwhelming majority of the group voted for it, forget that it's already 9:45 on a Tuesday night and let's "discuss" this.
It finally came to an end with Current President and Former President giving up. I mean, really, when you're the only two people arguing against a whole group...you're gonna lose. Sorry.
So, we all agreed to the shirt, hooray, everyone's fine, MOVING ON.
Not.
So, the meeting is adjourned a little later and a couple of us stick around. I had to talk to Former President because, well, it's a long story but basically there seems to be a communication problem between us and I wanted to solve it, like, NOW. Current President also had stayed around and once I'm done talking to Former President, Current President starts talking about the shirt AGAIN. Former President agrees with Current President's concerns and decides that, even though it's 10:15 at night, to call the president of the section that our chapter is in right then and there in front of all of us and ask him what he thinks of the shirt.
Now, I don't care about the shirt either way, I just want everyone to be happy and I'll buy any shirt they make just to support the group. But this was a little ridiculous. Former President (why she was handling this when she has NO LEADERSHIP POSITION WHATSOEVER is also a little hazy to me) made the shirt out to be the most offensive thing ever. "Especially since we don't have any Hispanic members in our chapter!" she bemoaned to the poor Section President. Well, since she had made it sound like we were going to be wearing a shirt along the lines of this one, he of course said no to the shirt.
On Wednesdays, there are officer meetings (did I mention I'm an officer in the group? Because I am). At the meeting, the t-shirt was brought up, of course. And there was more fighting. And nothing was resolved.
That's the worst thing about this. The drama isn't over. At least on reality tv, the person is voted off or kicked out or whatever. Unfortunately, my life isn't produced by Mark Burnett and there's no chance of me winning a million dollars if I get through this. I still have to deal with this drama.
Somebody make it stop.

0 comments so far
<< & >>

silly hats only
taste:a lovely combination of vomit and mouthwash
wear:a t-shirt that says "looking for peace of mind...or piece of pizza." i think we all know which I'd prefer
hear:the sounds of people typing
feel:sick
think:i'm going to be up all night because i waited until the last minute to do an assignment. I'll NEVER LEARN.
i am a banana.
- - 11.18.05
The One With All The Pajamas - 10.25.05
The One For Mom - 10.03.05
The One With The Paragraphs Seperated By Song Titles - 08.18.05
The One With Two New Additions To The Family (And Dirty Movies) - 07.13.05
i'm feeling fat & sassy
quote o' the day
"People call me the Bry man; I'm the stylish one of the group. I know what you're asking yourself and the answer is yes. I have a nick name for my penis. Its called the Octagon, but I also nick named my testes - my left one is James Westfall and my right one is Doctor Kenneth Noisewater. You ladies play your cards right you just might get to meet the whole gang. "-Brian Fantana, Anchorman:The Legend of Ron Burgundy