my spoon is too big
newest
older
random
profile
fans
cast
100 Things
other goodies
notes
guestbook
e-mail
further stalking
design
host
i'm a consumer whore!
playlist
Afternoon Delight-The Channel 4 News Team from Anchorman
i live in a giant bucket
bio
my name's sarah, you can call me sarah, i like cats and elvis music and those bobblehead animals you can put on your car dashboard. mmmmm, pizza pie.

Get Listed!



02.26.04 @ 1:21 A.M.
The One About Gay People

*sigh* It seems everyone and their mom has written about the gay marriage issue.

So why don't I follow the crowd? We all know I can't resist the call of peer pressure.

Don't get any misconceptions. The fact homosexuals don't have all the rights we do makes me sick to my stomach and laugh with contempt at the country I live in.

That being said.

In my lit class, my teacher, who is obsessed with queer theory to the point of sickness, told us that back in ancient Greece and Rome, homosexuality was common and not looked at like it is today.

It's only recently that homosexuality has become an identifying trait.

You're not looked at as John or Jane Human. You're John Faggot or Jane Dyke, or, if you're in the company of "enlightened" folks, other gay people, or chubby women who have a bunch of gay friends(fag hags), they'll kindly look at you as John Gay or Jane Lesbian.

There are some gay people out there, and some straight people too who feel like they're doing the community a favor("I'm not a homophobe. Some of my best friends are gay!"), make it out to be that when a person is gay...that's all they are.

Justin from Queer as Folk is a great example of this, as is Debbie. Everything about Justin is a "gay" issue. Every problem he's forced to deal with is because he's gay. And Debbie is always out there campaigning against the latest threat to the gays.

In high school, we had to read a book called Invisible Man(not to be confused with The Invisible Man, a mistake I made when I went to go buy it). I despised it at the time. I still despise it. But it makes a hell of a lot of good points about the tenuous relationship between a majority and a minority...if one can even exist(and, like the author, I don't believe it can).

I don't want this to make me sound like I'm against homosexuals by any means.

I don't look down on a person based on who they are attracted to. No, I look down on those people that act like it's the only thing about them. Surely they must have more substance.

I'm not saying a person should have to hide the fact that he or she is gay. But on the same token, they don't have to throw it in other people's faces either. Sorry, but you're kind of asking for anything you may get.

I just wish we could go back to Greek and Roman times. When it wasn't a big deal. BECAUSE HOMOSEXUALITY ISN'T A BIG DEAL.

A man much wiser than I said that the mark of an intelligent person is how articulate he is. This explains why I'm really inarticulate. So I have no idea if this makes any sense whatsoever. I don't know if I'm going to offend anyone with this, or come off as highly ignorant and irritating. (If I do, I am sorry)

But that's what you get for writing at close to two in the morning.

0 comments so far
<< & >>

silly hats only
taste:a lovely combination of vomit and mouthwash
wear:a t-shirt that says "looking for peace of mind...or piece of pizza." i think we all know which I'd prefer
hear:the sounds of people typing
feel:sick
think:i'm going to be up all night because i waited until the last minute to do an assignment. I'll NEVER LEARN.
i am a banana.
- - 11.18.05
The One With All The Pajamas - 10.25.05
The One For Mom - 10.03.05
The One With The Paragraphs Seperated By Song Titles - 08.18.05
The One With Two New Additions To The Family (And Dirty Movies) - 07.13.05
i'm feeling fat & sassy
quote o' the day
"People call me the Bry man; I'm the stylish one of the group. I know what you're asking yourself and the answer is yes. I have a nick name for my penis. Its called the Octagon, but I also nick named my testes - my left one is James Westfall and my right one is Doctor Kenneth Noisewater. You ladies play your cards right you just might get to meet the whole gang. "-Brian Fantana, Anchorman:The Legend of Ron Burgundy