my spoon is too big
newest
older
random
profile
fans
cast
100 Things
other goodies
notes
guestbook
e-mail
further stalking
design
host
i'm a consumer whore!
playlist
Afternoon Delight-The Channel 4 News Team from Anchorman
i live in a giant bucket
bio
my name's sarah, you can call me sarah, i like cats and elvis music and those bobblehead animals you can put on your car dashboard. mmmmm, pizza pie.

Get Listed!



11.03.04 @ 5:47 P.M.
The One With The Lost Faith

My friend Niki, a Bush supporter, and I made a pact that we wouldn't say anything about the election to each other no matter how it turned out. "We've been friends since seventh grade, let's not let two old rich Yale educated white guys take that away" was our rationale. So Niki...don't read this.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I can't say much that hasn't been said already.
I used to think of myself as a
patriot. You know, before September 11th, when EVERYBODY became a "patriot."
Seriously. I've always been so proud of being an American, and it always rubbed me the wrong way whenever anyone would say anything bad about it. If you hate it so much, move somewhere else, ya know? I'm not naive enough to think we don't have problems, but we're still the best, don't hate us for it (it's funny, I use the same argument when defending my love of the New York Yankees).
Since I was a kid, I've always had these grandiose visions of serving my country in the Marine Corps and then maybe go into a career with the government, like the FBI or CIA.
Yeah...not so much anymore.
The bottom line: Americans are stupid. So. Fucking. Goddamn. Stupid. The terrorists have won by making one the leader of the country.
Right now, watching the news, hearing John Kerry's concession speech, knowing the statistics, throwing away all the Kerry signs I've collected at various rallys, taking off all my Kerry Edwards bumper stickers, wondering what to do with all the paraphenalia I have, I'm just in such a state of utter confusion. How could this have happened?
Are they blind? Are they stupid? Are the same people who worship a God that only preached love and not judging one another so intolerant of homosexuals and women choosing what they want to do to themselves?
Yeah, I guess so.
This is what it takes for a patriot to lose her faith in her country. How can I respect a country that supports a man like George W. Bush? I can't. As hard as I try...no, I can't. He's too much. He's too awful. He's the worst thing that has ever happened to this country and people are sending him right back for another four years.
Of course many of us in the Democrat brotherhood are talking about moving to Canada. As much as I love Degrassi and going to hockey games, I will not be becoming a Canuck anytime soon. I have, however, begun the application process for studying abroad in Italy. Because, really: fuck. this.
I'll leave you with some of the best quotes I've heard today:
"Most people who reelected that maniac said that they supported their candidate because he was going to keep them safe. Meanwhile, New York, you know, the place that was actually attacked, supported Kerry by staggering numbers. Did you have to be so afraid America? I mean, is your primal fear so susceptible to intimidation and sound bytes that making that vote made you feel safer? Yes, we'll get a big farm Lenny, with lots of rabbits."-Disco
"I must say this election really broke my heart. That's why a love song seemed appropriate. My dad said some people might resort to violence to get Bush out of office. I have to agree with Erin when she says "fuck you." Because seriously, fuck you, you selfish bitches. I hate this shit. And it's your fault."-Sylvia
"The fact that they [Ohio] passed the ban on gay marriage by 67% makes me want to cry. And even though I'm a non-smoker, I didn't support the ban on smoking in restaurants/bars, and that issue was passed as well. So, we can't smoke, and we can't marry who we want. Let freedom ring, eh?"-Lauren (won't link because her diary is locked)
"and the presidental election is not the only one that has me enraged. yesterday, 11 states voted to ban gay marriage. yes, now people like me, who happen to love like i do are now officially second class citizens in 11 states. it's no longer just not legal - now it's banned. i think i'm going to be sick. this is the first time in history that various constitutions have been changed to single out a certain group of people and take away their rights. i am so sad. and i'm hurt. and angry. i'm not a moral danger to society. and neither are other gays and lesbians."-Spike
"We should've let the Southern States secede when we had the chance."-Craig
"Well. What can I say. With the an even larger senate majority and that prick in the white house, there is not a God Damn thing anyone can do but wait for the ship to sink. My heart grieves for the many victims of the catastrophic future that awaits. Roe v Wade is gone. Miranda Rights are history. Get ready for more War fronts. The environmental impact will be devestating. The police state will be solidified with court approval of even more draconian patriot act measures. I cannot march in the streets with the futile goal to change what cannot be altered. I have a daughter to think about. I cannot go down with the ship. I am resigning from the College Democrats, cancelling the radio program, withdrawing from this God forsaken university, and heading to Canada. It was a good fight and I appreciate everyone's efforts. Make no mistake, there is no future for this country. I wish you all luck surviving the hell ahead us."-John, (former) president of College Democrats here at USF

0 comments so far
<< & >>

silly hats only
taste:a lovely combination of vomit and mouthwash
wear:a t-shirt that says "looking for peace of mind...or piece of pizza." i think we all know which I'd prefer
hear:the sounds of people typing
feel:sick
think:i'm going to be up all night because i waited until the last minute to do an assignment. I'll NEVER LEARN.
i am a banana.
- - 11.18.05
The One With All The Pajamas - 10.25.05
The One For Mom - 10.03.05
The One With The Paragraphs Seperated By Song Titles - 08.18.05
The One With Two New Additions To The Family (And Dirty Movies) - 07.13.05
i'm feeling fat & sassy
quote o' the day
"People call me the Bry man; I'm the stylish one of the group. I know what you're asking yourself and the answer is yes. I have a nick name for my penis. Its called the Octagon, but I also nick named my testes - my left one is James Westfall and my right one is Doctor Kenneth Noisewater. You ladies play your cards right you just might get to meet the whole gang. "-Brian Fantana, Anchorman:The Legend of Ron Burgundy