my spoon is too big
newest
older
random
profile
fans
cast
100 Things
other goodies
notes
guestbook
e-mail
further stalking
design
host
i'm a consumer whore!
playlist
Afternoon Delight-The Channel 4 News Team from Anchorman
i live in a giant bucket
bio
my name's sarah, you can call me sarah, i like cats and elvis music and those bobblehead animals you can put on your car dashboard. mmmmm, pizza pie.

Get Listed!



12.17.04 @ 10:49 P.M.
The One About Two Careers I Would Be Horrible At But That People Tell Me I'd Be Great At

Meh.
It seems the two people in the world I thought knew me best, my mom and my best friend Joe, don't know me as well as I would've hoped.
Both of them have told me several times over the last couple of days that they think I would make a good teacher or a good doctor (or nurse).
Uh, hello? No. When it comes to medicine, I remind them that I've done horribly in all the science classes I've taken, including the latest one, Science That Matters, which I barely passed (but I DID pass it, woot!). Joe (who is a bio major and is going to become a vet) told me it's because we had horrible science teachers at the high school we went to (which is true) and that when it comes to this Science That Matters class, professors are often assholes when they have to teach a class to non-majors-they feel it's a waste of their time (also true). While those are nice thoughts, you have to also consider that maybe I did bad in those classes because I'M REALLY STUPID.
Besides: Always being on call? Endless shifts? Never being able to sleep? Hahahaha-NO. Not gonna happen.
And the teaching thing? Are you kidding me? There are so many things wrong with this scenario. First off: I hate kids. HATE THEM. So that leaves teaching high school or college. Now...I'm 4'11". These cynical asshole kids are not going to listen to or respect someone that is shorter than the average fourth grader. I mean, its not like I have this personality that COMMANDS respect or anything, and the height certainly doesn't help matters. So I'd be devoting my life to wasting time talking to kids that don't want to be in my class in the first place.
There's also that whole thing about me being inarticulate. Look back at past entries in here. I'm horrible at making a point. I ramble and go off on tangents and lose my train of thought. So if say one of my students was having trouble understanding one of the finer points of the Latin language, I wouldn't be able to explain it to them because I don't have that skill.
And? I totally would not grade fairly. Like if some girl walks in on the first day with a sorority t-shirt or a cheerleading outfit and sits between some pretty boy and another sorority girl (in the back of the class, natch), or if they wear a Red Sox cap, or if they say "you know, I thought The Phantom of the Opera sucked," I would have no qualms about failing them. Immediately. But if a short fat girl that looked extremely nervous at the prospect of having to be around other people or quoted that episode of The Simpsons that spoofed The X-Files or were wearing some vintage Stevie Nicks shirt, I would do everything in my power to cater to them and give them an A++.
Maybe I should just give up and just donate some plasma for money. Because apparantly, I'm never gonna figure out what I want to do.

0 comments so far
<< & >>

silly hats only
taste:a lovely combination of vomit and mouthwash
wear:a t-shirt that says "looking for peace of mind...or piece of pizza." i think we all know which I'd prefer
hear:the sounds of people typing
feel:sick
think:i'm going to be up all night because i waited until the last minute to do an assignment. I'll NEVER LEARN.
i am a banana.
- - 11.18.05
The One With All The Pajamas - 10.25.05
The One For Mom - 10.03.05
The One With The Paragraphs Seperated By Song Titles - 08.18.05
The One With Two New Additions To The Family (And Dirty Movies) - 07.13.05
i'm feeling fat & sassy
quote o' the day
"People call me the Bry man; I'm the stylish one of the group. I know what you're asking yourself and the answer is yes. I have a nick name for my penis. Its called the Octagon, but I also nick named my testes - my left one is James Westfall and my right one is Doctor Kenneth Noisewater. You ladies play your cards right you just might get to meet the whole gang. "-Brian Fantana, Anchorman:The Legend of Ron Burgundy